Setting Goals and Writing Them Down

On Yearly and Monthly Goals

HeaderBookshelf

Last year, I had concrete resolutions and monthly goals. I made sure that they were achievable, both in terms of my dedication and their price points. I am happy to announce that I’ve completed most of these personal goals, and they were all rewarding on their own.

I completed 2/3rds of my 2012 resolutions: I finished Part I of Nocte Yin: Anti-Villain, Anti-Hero and Anti-Everything-Else, and I lost more than 2lbs. I did not, however, achieve my dream of attending a ballet show.

One of the benefits of having these ambitions was that I got to do and see a lot more things than I would normally. I went out of my comfort zone for some of these activities and events. Early in the year, in February, I took a silk-screening workshop. In July, I was determined to do some gluten-free baking and made some (very dry and awful) blueberry muffins.

To keep myself focused (because I really wanted to record it and look back on 2012 later in life), I wrote down these aspirations in a little notebook. I either check marked or “x-ed” the goals I’ve completed or failed in. Not surprisingly, most of the goals I’ve failed at were the ones involving writing Nocte… (I really have to stop pressuring myself… because I just get more panicked!)

One of the things I did, and am so happy for, was that I recorded all the fun and exciting (and disappointing) things that happened each month – the things that matter and defined me. It was like keeping a journal of my life in monthly increments. I’m quite happy with how it turned out.

This year, I’ve decided to continue with my resolutions and monthly goals. I want to try new things, visit new places, and see new people. More importantly, I want to be happy.

Here’s a list of what I want to do:

1. Attend a ballet performance

2. Try yoga classes

3. Have high tea at a ridiculously fancy hotel

4. Visit a nearby national park

5. Complete all Jane Austen Novels (2/6 left)

Lastly,

6. Write. Just write.

Wish me luck.

甄雪清

3 thoughts on “Setting Goals and Writing Them Down

Leave a Reply

