2013: The Year of Transition

Peace Lily: Peace and HopeIn the last dregs of December, snow falls like cold sugar powder. For the past week, the city has been stopped cold by freezing rain, felled trees and broken power lines. Nature sweeps in a death so cold and beautiful that everything is muffled in a glass coffin. For two days, we were without electricity and moved by candlelight. There was something so simple and lovely in the lack of light and noise that I felt like I was living in a dream.

Today, the sun is bright, the ice has melted and soft snow falls. After being buried for so long, the wind, though chilly, carries life with it. It’s refreshing, a turn in the tide, and with a glance I realize that the new year is just around the corner.

This year has been a tumultuous storm for me: I’ve been laid off from my first full-time job, got a part-time job in a completely different field, completed a worthwhile internship at a magazine, taken a chance freelancing as a copy editor for a major publishing house and, finally, I got a full-time contract as a proofreader for a different content brand.

It’s been a lot of up and downs, and I know a lot of people have been concerned for me. I know, as a young graduate, that many are still struggling. It’s not happily ever after, but it’s these small fortunes that helped me realize that these great and wonderful things happen slowly and with reason.

May 2014 be fortuitous for all. I strive, always strive, for tomorrow.

Peace Lily| Peace and Hope

甄雪清

Leave a Reply

